USA Tour: The planning…

It is not an easy thing to write about a trip that you have been back from for a few weeks already. I always set with the best intentions on keeping a log of the daily activities and try to post to the blog whilst travelling but I always end up not having the time or the energy to put down the words.
So here I am, 6 weeks at least after I got back and decide to try to record what I can remember. I am sure, some of the memories will have faded and some will now be tainted with further knowledge but it is still fresher than in 10 years time when I really won’t remember all the details…

It all started last year, when I decided I had enough of waiting around for my friends to be available or ready to travel with me to the States. I mean, this is hardly a trip you want to do on your own, but at the same time, trying to convince 2 or 3 people to take 3 weeks off and commit to travelling together for that length of time can be tricky. I had been hoping that at some point I’d meet someone with whom I could do it but unfortunately it hasn’t happened yet. Then the last couple years have been tricky with all the recession issues, the being made redundant and the not having the guarantee of a permanent job for the following months…I kept telling myself, next year I’ll do it… Last year, I threw caution to the wind and decided it was now or never (well maybe not never, but basically the time was right) for me to take the plunge and go visit the country I had been dreaming about since I was 15! Growing up I wanted nothing more than to go to California, especially LA as all of my favourite shows were based there and I had a very glamorous view of it.
Living in the UK and having travelled a little and met incredible (and sometimes not so much so) people from around the world, I have had the chance to re-evaluate where I wanted to go…California was still where I wanted to go, but I had changed my desired city to San Francisco, having heard that LA isn’t as exciting as TV shows make it sound.

So, the decision was made…I was going to go and wanted to go to California. I also knew that the lasted I wanted was to travel alone…I hate that. I am not as adventurous as I would like to be and I have often admired and envied those people who can just pack up a rucksack and go travel on their own. The truth is I get scared easily and therefore I knew I needed to do a group thing. However, I didn’t want to end up in a group with only couples or pensioners so I had to choose my operator carefully….lucky for me, I came across TrekAmerica very quickly and from the get go, I felt that this was the solution for me. The Westerner2 BLT tour they offered seemed to be ticking all my boxes: visiting a few places in California, including SF -tick; Grand Canyon -tick, small group -tick, good for independent travellers – tick, 18-38 age group -tick! It only took me a week of ermm-ing and aah-ing before I confirmed the booking and then the long wait started.
The trip was booked for June 2012 and we were in Nov 2011!!

 

Categories: North America, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What Say You?

Blog at WordPress.com.

