London: Notting Hill Carnival 2011

I have been living in London for nearly 13 years now – yes, I know, it makes me feel old too! – and I have pretty much loved every minute of it…well maybe not every minute: I didn’t loved being unemployed for 3 months and having to sign in at the JobCentre every 2 weeks ; I didn’t love having to move every 2-3 years ; I certainly don’t love that I can’t really buy a flat in a nice neighbourhood without having to move away from centre….but there is plenty I have loved, honest.

In my early years in London, I lived smack in the middle of Notting Hill and for 3 years I got to “enjoy” the Carnival as a resident. The first year was exciting as it was new and I had never been to a carnival of this amplitude before. The 2nd year, I felt like I knew what to expect and therefore enjoyed it more whilst avoiding the scary parts…the 3rd year, I was over it: the crowds, the noise, the mess…I wished I had gone away somewhere else that weekend. Then I moved away from the area and never thought about it again, until last year.

A friend of my family back home in France, sent their 16 years old daughter to spend the August Bank holiday with me. She was keen to visit London and experience a little of the life there as she wanted to come study there later on. So, to show her what London was all about, I took her to the Carnival…here are the photos of the day…

All the photographs have been taken and edited by me (under my Photography name StardustDigital Photography).

A little walk down memory lane…this is the street I used to live on

I spent many a Saturday morning buying fruits and veg at the Portobello Market

Some candid photographs of interesting characters or just gawkers….

Birds of a feather…

I got my first piercing done there…it hurt like a b*tch!

I remember a private party we managed to sneak into there once…Got really drunk on tequila shots and a little light headed from the smoke inhalation of all the happy cigarettes being smoked around…

Long day, uh?

Everybody joins in….all ages, all colours, all genders….

Some people were really creative….and a little scary!

The Aftermath….

The weather wasn’t too great on that day but it was a good day nonetheless…saying that, we had enough of it after about 2 hours!

Hope you enjoyed the pictures…

Categories: Europe | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What Say You?

Blog at WordPress.com.

